Renu Therapy Cold Stoic 3.0: worth $11k?
Renu Therapy Cold Stoic 3.0 review, built from research: an $11,399 tub owners praise for years of use. The specs, the one-year chiller warranty and the costs.

Tubs for far less
- Ice Barrel 500Over $1,500See it on Amazon
- Ice Barrel 300$300–1,500See it on Amazon
- TURBRO FrostCore F8536°F statedSee it on Amazon
- The Pod Company Ice Pod ProUnder $300See it on Amazon
The short answer
$11,399
The Renu Therapy Cold Stoic 3.0 is a hard, insulated tub with the chiller, filter and ozone built in. Seven owners on r/coldplunge describe theirs, and six are happy, two of them after years of daily use. The catches are the price, a chiller covered for one year of the five, and extras that are not in the box.
Tubs for far less
- Ice Barrel 500Over $1,500See it on Amazon
- Ice Barrel 300$300–1,500See it on Amazon
- TURBRO FrostCore F8536°F statedSee it on Amazon
- The Pod Company Ice Pod ProUnder $300See it on Amazon
What this review is based on
We have not used a Cold Stoic. This review is research-based. The specs, prices and warranty are the maker’s, read on renutherapy.com on 6 October 2026. The owner reports come from six threads on the r/coldplunge forum, dated 2022 to 2026.
That is a small sample, and we say so. Renu Therapy’s Trustpilot page is claimed by the company and has no reviews, so there is nothing to add from there. Several of the reports are about the Cold Stoic 2.0, the model before this one.
Our picks at every price are in the best cold plunge tubs.
Renu Therapy Cold Stoic 3.0 specs
Renu Therapy is a California maker of hard-shell cold plunge tubs, and the Cold Stoic 3.0 is its main home model. You sit or kneel in it. It is not a lay-down tub.
| Cold Stoic 3.0 | |
|---|---|
| Price | $11,399 to $12,099, by finish |
| Outside | 70 × 33 × 35 in |
| Inside tank | 40 × 25 × 31 in |
| Water | 95 gal filled, 134 gal at most |
| Weight | 365 lb dry, about 1,155 lb filled |
| Temperature range | 37 to 104°F |
| Chiller | 0.5 HP, 518 W cooling, 1,013 W heating |
| Noise | 58 dB at about 3 ft |
| Power | 120 V, a dedicated 15 A circuit recommended, GFCI plug |
| Insulation | 4 in of foam |
| Water care | Two-stage filter and ozone |
| Warranty | 5 years limited, chiller 1 year |
| Ships in | 3 to 5 weeks, to the kerb |
The figures check out. A tank 40 × 25 × 31 in is 31,000 cubic inches, which is 134 gallons, the maker’s own maximum. And 95 gallons at 8.34 lb is 792 lb, which with the 365 lb tub gives 1,157 lb. That is our maths, and it lands within 2 lb of the maker’s figure.
At 1,155 lb on a base about 70 × 33 in, check the floor before it arrives. Other tubs’ footprints are in cold plunge tub dimensions.
Maker says, owners say
| Maker says | Owners say | |
|---|---|---|
| Reliability | 5-year limited warranty | Four years of daily use with no fault, by one owner. Two years running around the clock, by another |
| Holding temperature | 4 in of insulation, for any climate | Holds outside in central Texas heat, by one owner. Another keeps his at 46°F and rarely touches it |
| Cool-down | Not stated on the page we read | One owner’s is ready the day after a refill. One shopper read reports of 18 to 24 hours. A rival maker says the same, and has an interest |
| Noise | “Ultra-quiet”, 58 dB at 3 ft | “A faint hum” you hear standing beside it, by one owner |
| Upkeep | Two-stage filtration and ozone | Water changed every four months by one owner, and twice in six months by another |
| The wood deck | Natural wood may weather outdoors | One owner’s wooden step grew mould over a wet winter and needed sanding and refinishing |
| The app | “Wifi remote app functionality” | It works, and it is a generic third-party app, by one owner |
| Running cost | 518 W when cooling | One California owner saw no change in his electricity bill |
Nobody in these threads gave a measured cool-down time. The maker’s 0.5 HP label says little on its own, for the reasons in chiller sizing, and the page we read gives no cooling capacity in BTU.
What owners complain about
For once the list is short, and we would rather say that than pad it.
- The price. This is the complaint that recurs, mostly from people who do not own one. One commenter who owned both a Renu and a rival tub at half the cost prefers the rival.
- The wood. One six-month owner says the redwood deck marks easily and the step went mouldy outdoors. The warranty says wood weathering is not a defect. The maker now sells composite decks.
- What is not included. The same owner calls the $499 spa cover “critical” outdoors. He paid about $300 more for an outdoor GFCI outlet, and says a spa mover would have cost $300 to $500.
- Delivery stops at the kerb. The tub weighs 365 lb on a pallet. One owner moved his alone on furniture rollers. Another used a dolly and two helpers.
We found no report of a failed chiller, a leak or a support dispute. Four owners single out the support. One was sent replacement vent panels free and was refused when he offered to pay.
A caution on reading that. Seven owners is not many, happy owners of an $11,000 tub have a reason to stay happy, and one of the seven posted a single gushing line. The two detailed long-term reports are the ones we weigh.
The warranty: five years, except the chiller
Read the terms, because the headline is not the whole of it.
- Five years on everything except the water chiller.
- One year on the water chiller. A four-year extension costs $499.99 and must be bought within 364 days.
- You pay shipping on warranty parts, and the maker expects you to fit most of them yourself. If you cannot, it pays a service provider up to $50 an hour for two hours.
- Not covered: damage from leaks, poor water chemistry, neglected filters, freezing, power cuts and low water flow.
- Original buyer only. It does not pass to whoever buys the tub from you.
The chiller is the part that fails on other makers’ tubs, and here it has the shortest cover. Budget for the extension. With it and the cover, the real price is about $12,400.
What it costs to own
- $11,399 The tub, at its cheapest finish
- $499 The outdoor cover
- $499.99 Four more years on the chiller
- About 9.5¢ An hour of cooling
The first three are the maker’s prices. The last is our maths: 518 W for one hour at 18.31¢ a kWh, the US average. The maker does not state hours of running a day.
Against ice, it takes years to earn back. Three sessions a week on ice costs about $2,388 a year by our maths, so $12,400 is a little over five years of ice. A soft tub with a small chiller does the same job for about $730, as what a cold plunge costs sets out. What the extra $11,000 buys is a rigid insulated shell, a filter and ozone you do not assemble, and, by these owners, years without trouble.
Who should buy it, and who should skip it
Buy it if you plunge most days, you want a permanent tub that looks like furniture, and you would pay to avoid hoses, fittings and fault codes. The long-term reports are the best we have read for any tub with a built-in chiller.
Skip it if you are still finding out whether you like cold water, if you want to lie flat, or if a ground-floor slab is not where it will sit.
The alternative for a tenth of the price is an insulated barrel with a standalone chiller. It will not look as good, and each half can be replaced on its own. The barrels are in cold plunge barrels and the chillers in the best cold plunge chillers.
Common questions
How much is the Renu Therapy Cold Stoic 3.0?
$11,399 to $12,099 on the maker’s site in October 2026, depending on the finish. The spa cover is $499 more, and delivery to the kerb is free in the contiguous US.
How cold does the Cold Stoic 3.0 get?
The maker states 37°F, and 104°F when heating. One owner keeps his at 46°F.
Is Renu Therapy made in the USA?
The maker says the Cold Stoic 3.0 is designed and assembled in Southern California. A rival maker says the chiller inside is an imported unit. We could not check that.
Is Renu Therapy sold on Amazon?
We found no listing in October 2026. It is sold from the maker’s own site.