Pod Company Ice Pod review: a $79 start
The Pod Company Ice Pod review, built from research: a $79 soft tub that takes a chiller. Maker's claims against owner reports on insulation, fit and leaks.

The Ice Pod, and alternatives
- The Pod Company Ice Pod ProUnder $300See it on Amazon
- The Pod Company Pod Chiller (Standard)41°F statedSee it on Amazon
- The Cold Pod XLUnder $300See it on Amazon
- Ice Barrel 300$300–1,500See it on Amazon
The short answer
$79
The Pod Company Ice Pod Pro is the cheapest tub we have found that takes a chiller and carries a two-year warranty. Owners say it works and that its walls are thin: in summer it eats ice. Buy it as a first tub, in shade, and plan on the cover.
The Ice Pod, and alternatives
- The Pod Company Ice Pod ProUnder $300See it on Amazon
- The Pod Company Pod Chiller (Standard)41°F statedSee it on Amazon
- The Cold Pod XLUnder $300See it on Amazon
- Ice Barrel 300$300–1,500See it on Amazon
What this review is based on
We have not used an Ice Pod. This review is research-based. The specs, prices and policies are the maker’s, read on podcompany.com on 6 October 2026. The owner reports come from nine threads on the r/coldplunge forum and from the maker’s Trustpilot page, read on 4 October 2026.
Our picks across every type are in the best cold plunge tubs, and other soft tubs are compared in portable ice baths.
The Pod Company Ice Pod: two tubs and three bundles
The Pod Company Ice Pod is a soft, round, insulated tub you sit upright in. It comes in two versions, and the pricing is the wrong way round from what you would expect.
| Ice Pod Pro | Standard Ice Pod | |
|---|---|---|
| Price, tub only | $79 | $99 |
| Insulation, by the maker | “Extra thick” | “Regular” |
| Fits, by the maker | Up to 6 ft 7 in, 280 to 320 lb | Up to 6 ft 2 in |
| Size | 32 in across, 30 in high | Not stated separately |
| Stated capacity | 110 gal | Not stated separately |
| Weight empty | 8 lb | Not stated separately |
| Chiller valves | Two | Not stated |
| Warranty | 2 years | 2 years |
The Pro costs $20 less than the standard tub on the day we read the page. Unless that changes, there is no reason to buy the standard one.
| Bundle | Price | What is added |
|---|---|---|
| Pro Bundle | $149 | Insulated lid, thermometer, six ice brick moulds |
| Ice Pod Pro with the Pod Chiller | $728 | The 1/3 HP, 280 W chiller, hoses and a 20-micron filter |
| Ice Pod Pro with the Chiller 2.0 | $999 | The 780 W chiller |
Does it hold 110 gallons?
Not by our maths. A cylinder 32 in across and 30 in high is 3.14 × 16 × 16 × 30, or 24,115 cubic inches. Divide by 231 and you get 104 gallons to the brim, six short of the 110 the maker states. You fill it lower still, because the water rises when you get in.
It matters for two sums. Full, the tub weighs about 925 lb: 110 gallons at 8.34 lb, plus 8 lb of tub. And cooling 100 gallons from 60°F to 50°F takes about 51 lb of ice. Both are our maths, and the ice sum is in how much ice an ice bath needs.
Maker says, owners say
| Maker says | Owners say | |
|---|---|---|
| Insulation | “Extra thick insulation” | Thin. One owner cut his open to show it, and at least three more agree |
| Holding cold | An owner review on the maker’s page says days | In Florida, 40 lb of ice was warm within the hour. With the cover, owners hold 50 to 55°F on frozen jugs |
| Fit | Up to 6 ft 7 in and 320 lb | A 6 ft 1 in owner calls it cramped. A 6 ft 2 in owner can dunk. A 5 ft 9 in, 200 lb owner laughs at the claim |
| Capacity | 110 gal | 104 gal to the brim, by our maths |
| With a chiller | Clean, clear water for four weeks or more | The chiller is where Trustpilot complaints cluster. See below |
The insulation is the gap that matters. The maker sells a cover set to close it, which tells you the tub alone is not enough in heat.
What owners complain about
- It eats ice in summer. One owner put in 48 lb and reached only 60°F. Another says 100 to 120 lb is needed where the tap runs at 75 to 80°F. That is double our sum for 60°F tap water, and it fits: warm tap water and thin walls both add to the bill.
- It is snug. Two owners at 6 ft 1 in and 6 ft 2 in disagree on whether it is cramped or fine, which puts the real limit near there and well under 6 ft 7 in.
- A spigot snapped. One owner’s drain spigot broke after about six months while he was tightening it, in a basement. One report, and a costly place for it.
- The top ring sagged on the older version. One owner says the earlier ring leaked air and the updated one is better. He was sent a second tub under warranty. A Trustpilot reviewer also reports a ring that will not stay inflated.
- Water between the wall layers. One owner, and one more with the same in the lid.
- Direct sun. One owner whose only spot faces south says the water warms and the insulation then keeps it warm.
One owner on ice with no filter got pink bacterial staining. That is a water care problem and not the tub’s. It is covered in cold plunge water care.
What Trustpilot shows
The Pod Company’s Trustpilot page has 3,651 reviews, 89% of them five-star and 6% one-star, and the company replies to every low rating. It is a large profile that the company tends, so the average flatters.
We read the twenty most recent one and two star reviews, from February to September 2026. About half were about its saunas. Of the rest, the tub drew two complaints: the ring that would not stay inflated, and returns. The chiller drew the others.
| Problem | Reports |
|---|---|
| Chiller failed or arrived not working | 4 |
| Return or refund refused, or costly | 3 |
| Slow support, by email only | 2 |
| Shipping two to three weeks late | 2 |
| Pump failure after eight months | 1 |
| Leak at the chiller fittings | 1 |
The praise that recurs is for fast replacement parts under warranty. So the pattern is a tub that gives little trouble, a chiller that sometimes does, and friction when you want your money back instead of a part.
The warranty and the return
- Warranty: two years, stated on the product page.
- Return: 30 days for a full refund if unused. The maker says you may unbox the tub to check its size and exchange it, “provided you don’t fill it with water”.
- Chiller return: 30 days, and you pay the return shipping. One Trustpilot reviewer put that at about $100.
- Shipping: free in the US on orders over $200, so the $79 tub alone does not qualify.
The return terms are the catch. You cannot test a tub without filling it, and once it is filled it cannot go back. Decide on the size before you add water.
Who should buy it, and who should skip it
Buy it if this is your first tub, you are under about 6 ft 1 in, and it will sit in shade or indoors. At $79 it costs less than two weeks of ice at three sessions a week, by our maths. The two chiller valves mean you can add cooling later without buying a second tub.
Skip it if it has to sit in the sun, if you are tall or broad, or if it will live somewhere a leak would do damage. One owner wrote that keeping 100 gallons in a soft tub in his basement worried him after the spigot broke.
The alternative for more room is The Cold Pod XL, which is 35.4 in across. For a tub that holds cold on its own, an insulated barrel does what a soft pod cannot, and those are compared in cold plunge barrels. Cheaper soft tubs are in cheap cold plunge tubs.
Common questions
Is the Ice Pod Pro worth it over the standard Ice Pod?
On the day we read the maker’s page the Pro was the cheaper of the two, at $79 against $99, with thicker insulation and a higher size limit. Buy the Pro.
How long does the Ice Pod stay cold?
It depends on the weather more than the tub. In Florida heat one owner’s 40 lb of ice was gone within the hour. With the insulated cover, owners report holding 50 to 55°F on frozen jugs.
Can you use the Ice Pod with any chiller?
The Ice Pod Pro has two valves for a chiller. The maker sells its own, and the choice of others is in the best cold plunge chillers.
How tall can you be for the Ice Pod?
The maker says 6 ft 7 in for the Pro. Owner reports put a comfortable limit nearer 6 ft 1 in. Sizes for other tubs are in cold plunge tub dimensions.